Caroline Grace

Just two weeks ago our lives changed.

It’s one of those moments that you prepare for. In our circumstance, we’ve been preparing for it for quite a while, knowing that it could come at any time. We became parents.

With Tony’s chemo treatments underway, we knew that the timing would likely be difficult regardless of when our baby came. And so it was on Thursday, July 10– after Tony received chemo that morning and I went in for an OB appointment that afternoon– that I started having contractions.

IMG_0837

“We’re getting admitted!!” selfie.

The contractions started at 10 o’clock that night. At this point we had to make a decision: go to sleep, or go to the hospital? Tony was so tired from the chemo that I told him to go to sleep and I’d wake him if we needed to go to the hospital. The contractions continued, so we left and made it to the hospital at 12:30. In triage, I was so nervous I’d be told that this was false labor, and I dragged my husband out of bed for no reason.  Instead, I was told that I was 5 – 6 cm dilated and we were about to have a baby!

I continued to labor, while Tony tried to get some sleep. Around 2am I felt some nausea coming on, so I got some Zofran and a bedpan. Tony found himself in a similar state as his chemo was kicking in, so he took a dose of Compazine and the other bedpan.

At 3am, the doctor came in to break my water and told me that I was 10 cm and it was time to start pushing. Up until this point, things hadn’t been so bad. I didn’t have an epidural, just a little Nubain for pain, and was able to breathe through the contractions. The pushing, however, was a different story.

I pushed for an hour with very little result. The OB thought maybe the baby’s head was stuck behind my pelvic bone. I had a friend since offer that maybe this lodgement is what kept the baby inside for so long while I was on bed rest. I like to believe that this is true, because pushing for over an hour with no epidural is very strenuous, and not something I prepared for. Fortunately it just took another half hour of pushing, and then suddenly she was here. IMG_0750

Caroline Grace – 7lb 9oz – born at 5:07am on July 11, 2014.
The weeks since then have been pretty typical for parents of a newborn. Sleepless nights, feeding around-the-clock, and bouts of unexplained screaming (and let’s not forget, this girl got four doses of steroids to help her lung function when they thought she would be premature- she has strong lungs!). However she’s also a good sleeper, a good eater, and all-around pretty great. I know at this point you really just want to see pictures, so here you go:
IMG_0764

On her birthday: 7-11-14.

IMG_0815

IMG_0872

On her way to her first appointment with the pediatrician.

IMG_0901

Swaddled for what *should* be a good night’s sleep.

IMG_0993

One of our favorite faces of hers.

One of our favorite faces of hers, I just had to include it.

P1130349

4 thoughts on “Caroline Grace

  1. So amazing! What an experience! What a great God we have! This has to mean so much to you both!!! How can I help my friend!!!!?

  2. We are rejoicing with you at the safe arrival of this incredible little girl!! Thank you SO much for sharing the gorgeous photos. We continue to pray for you daily. With much love, Phil and Angy

Leave a Reply

