Happy Birthdays

June is a big month for birthdays in my family. My mom and I both have birthdays in June. This year called for extra celebration, as I was turning the big 3-0. She also had a monumental birthday ( but I wouldn’t dare post such numbers on the internet!). All I can say is I am now at the age she was when I was born, which makes turning 30 a big deal …and a little strange.
We’ve never been a family that has big parties for birthdays, (at least until the age of 90) so we instead opted for excursions. For Mom’s birthday, Tony & I met my parents and Matt & Melissa in Columbus, OH and went canoeing. It was a 90+ degree day, so the water was nice, and often shady.
Tony decided to forgo the canoe for individual kayaks, which meant that he could be a lazy as he wanted, and also devious at times.
Two weeks later, Tony & I celebrated my birthday with a little excursion of our own– to exciting Minnesota! Tony was scheduled to be in Minneapolis for work, and so I took a few days off and tagged along for a long weekend. The city was laid back and the weather was beautiful. Like Indy, the downtown area is pretty compact and we could easily walk most places from our hotel.
Speaking of our hotel, it was an attraction of its own, as it actually had an art gallery off of the hotel lobby. We couldn’t resist making it a “living art” gallery as we joined in some of the exhibits…
    
We even got to go to a Twins game on Friday night– something I was really excited about, since I had not yet been to Target Field. This makes the 18th baseball field I’ve visited!
Leave a Reply

